upgrade nightmare

lamer of fortune

Administrator
Site Admin
Modding team
Race Director
League Member
Hi all,

just met Tim on the server with steady 90fps and all is hopefully fine. However it has been a nightmare to get there and I was deeply depressed in between.

Surprisingly the parcels turned up on Saturday instead of Tuesday as indicated and I was positively surprised.

I am no newbie when it comes to taking the PC apart and I thought it is going to be a piece of cake as I had ordered an upgrade bundle and expected the things to fit together.

Mobo in, powersupply in, CPU in, no problem so far , mounting the cool was the first heeadache but that was a stupidity problem of mine. DDR4 into the correct banks and then power on - nothing.

everyting out everything in again - nothing

reading the first half of the internet - maybe a Bios issue with the new CPU. OK lets reflash it. Spend most of the day trying different USB sticks as it is known to not take just any. Finally an interesting pattern of flashing. That must be it - still nothing.

The QLED pass teh DRAM, the CPU but then hung up on VGA and boot.

I then assemble the whole thing on the table to make sure i have not missed out any cable - still nothing

Reading the second half of the tech support internet - maybe too mch pressure of the cooler onto the CPU. Ok everything out again and remount with less pressure - nohing

Some obscure reports talk about issues with Display ports and recommend HDMI for booting - Oh wow I can see the UEFI after 2 days.

Ok lets put the second DRAM bar in - nothing still only 8GB, try out all the locations.