• Like our community? Become a contributor -> here

It's finally paying off.........

Navigator

Hi guys,

Haven't been here for a while, haven't been racing for a while either.
Reason; family problems that never made me a nice guy so you were better off without me ;)
Now, I'm pretty exited and have to tell someone :) I can tell my nice, but she couldn't care less; I have the idea you guys may appreciate it more ;)

As some of you may know, my volunteer job is scrutineer for Knaf, the Dutch "chapter" of the FIA.
We check racing cars for safety before they go to track and for legality after the qualifying- or racing sessions.
We do that for Dutch championships (Knaf championships that is, not clubs) here in the Netherlands and outside and for other (mostly FIA) championships coming to the Netherlands.
I am part of the "track racing" chapter and don't do rally or other things. We are a small group of somewhere around 15 people.
I've been doing this for almost 15 years now and had some nice times and interesting cars like F3, Historics, DTM (they ask us to help too) GT3 and so on. But also a lot of Swift Cup, old Fords and so on.
Met guys like Vettel (did a demo at Zandvoort) Di Resta (DTM at the time) Verstappen (F3 at Zandvoort) and Hülkenberg (F3 at Zolder back then, was sitting next to him at breakfast at the hotel).

But now......you guys know what's coming to Holland, right? :)
Porsche Super Cup, Formula W, Formula 3 and.......wait for it........Formula One!
Just heard I have been assigned to Formula One :)
So, all those years finally pay off right now; this is what you want in this job, right?
It won't be all sunshine as I already got some .pdf documents telling me what to do, what not to do, how to do it and so on........
Luckily I live pretty much near the track and will be taking a moped (half hour drive through the dunes) to get there; I wouldn't like to go by car!

Anyway, thanks for reading, just had to tell someone "who gets it".

DJCruicky

Staff member